Six FCT area council chairmen, 62 councillors get Certificates of Return



The Independent National Electoral Commission on Thursday issued Certificates of Return to elected chairmen of the six area councils of the Federal Capital Territory and 62 councillors.

Alhaji Yahaya Bello, the FCT Resident Electoral Commissioner, who presented the certificates to the elected representatives, said they should justify the confidence repose in them.

He said that the presentation of Certificates of Return to the elected chairmen and councillors marked the conclusion of a successful democratic exercise in the FCT.

He commended the elected representatives for their victories in the keenly contested elections in the FCT, and the people for their exemplary conduct during the elections.

Malam Mohammed Bello, the Minister of FCT, who spoke, called on the chairmen and councillors to key into the anti-corruption fight of President Muhammadu Buhari, adding that all financial regulatory procedure must be followed.

The News Agency of Nigeria reports that the All Progressives Congress won four chairmanship seats, while the Peoples Democratic Party won two.

The area councils won by APC are Abaji, Kwali, Gwagwalada and AMAC, while PDP won Kuje and Bwari.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here