Man-City retains EPL crown

Jurgen Klopp, Liverpool Coach

Manchester City had to draw from their wealth of experience to overcome a stubborn Brighton, and retain the English Premier League title.

Man-City were the defending champions of the EPL in the 2018/2019 season, having won it the preceding season. But their hope of retaining the crown dimmed when Brighton and Hove-Albion took the lead after 27 minutes through Glen Murray who headed in from a corner at the Amex Stadium.

With the Murray goal, the title was slipping off City’s hands as Liverpool were then leading Wolves by 1 – 0 at Anfield, thanks to a clinical finish by Saido Mane.

The defending champions did not have to wait for long before Sergio Aguero evened scores at 1 – 1 after 83 seconds to return his team at the summit of the League standings.

More goals were to come from Aymeric Laporte (38th minute), Riyad Mahrez (63rd minute) and a stunning free kick from Ilkay Gundogan (72nd minute) to seal the tile for City by a single point.

City finished the 2018/2019 EPL campaign on 98 points while Liverpool placed second on 97 points after beating Wolvermpton Wanderers 2 – 0. Both goals were netted by Sadio Mane, but Liverpool were left unfulfilled (though not dejected) having hoped to win the EPL crown this season.

The Anfield club has not won the Premier League title since the last 29 years.

They have a chance to put some smiles on the faces of their fans on June 1, 2019 in Madrid, Spain if they win the UEFA Champions League final against Tottenham Hotspur in an all-English final.





Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here